Impact of graduating early a year to pursue Olympics

My child is considering graduating early after junior year to pursue Olympics or World Championships. GPA 4.3, decent test scores, AP classes, volunteer work. To get into the most competitive school possible what is the best course of action? Gap year? Don’t graduate early but do online school? Reach World Championships etc then apply? Might end up being a two year gap year situation - what kind of study would be best to pursue while training during the 2 year period? Advice greatly appreciated. Thanks!

If a child is training for Olympics then that is what they have dreamed of their entire life. So many hours, so much sacrifice. There are thousands of colleges, many will consider your child a prize. It is an absolute positive to defer college admission until your child can realize their dream

7 Likes

Get recruited for their sport? I am not an expert on these matters but wish your child well. A lot of top student athletes from our school that went to most competitive schools (as you call them) continued with their studies at school and were recruited by said competitive schools. There were some (tennis players come to mind) that had to do online school in order to make top rankings with participation in different tournaments. And that’s all I know. Good luck to your student.

I agree with @Campbell281. You will hear “Olympic athlete” bandied about here, almost in jest along with Nobel Prize Winner, as a highly desired hook for college admissions. It’s so pie in the sky for most of us that I would be surprised if you will find someone with that experience on CC. I hope I am wrong!

In your shoes, I would choose whichever academic approach (graduate early, cyber school, etc.) best supports his athletic goals, then let the chips fall from there. A wonderful college — whether it is Penn or Penn State in terms of selectivity — will offer him a great experience once he is done chasing his dreams.

1 Like