Internships and Job Placement after graduating

<p>I'm an incoming freshman in the college of engineering program. I currently plan on being a Civil Engineer, and I hear there are a LOT of people with that major. Which would make finding a job very hard. I'd like to do structural work (maybe environmental) and I was wondering how hard it is to get an internship (and subsequently a job). I'd like to get one my first year, so I can be well on the way to guaranteeing a career for myself soon after I graduate. Any advice?</p>

<p>It’ll be pretty difficult to get one after your first year. You won’t be a civil engineer yet; you’ll just be a “general engineer.” Try government places though, especially since you want to do Civil. I got an internship with the WVDOT after my freshman year, but it didn’t really pay enough that it would have been feasible had I not already had a place to stay there.</p>

<p>Yeah, civil is one of those disciplines where it will be difficult to get something that really interests you from an engineering standpoint early on. Getting a job won’t be difficult if you perform well, are an interesting person, and work to separate yourself. But of course that’s how it is for all disciplines :-)</p>

<p>how’d tech help you with job placement your senior year/graduation, chuy?</p>

<p>Starting my freshman year in 2006, I went to every Engineering Expo in the fall and career fair in the Spring just to get the experience of going and talking to the reps every year and resume writing ect. I still have a few more semesters until I graduate but basically they told me my freshman year for a lot of things that they give priority to juniors and seniors even if you have the best grades and experience. It makes sense too from their point of view. </p>