Is college right for me?

<p>As a transfer student I am at a crossroads.
I am finishing up the fall semester, and preparing for my last semester.
I just applied to my choice UCs, and am in the process of applying to scholarships.
I actually like school, overall I’m interested in learning and I really like my field, anthropology.</p>

<p>However, I keep feeling that going to college is, in a way, killing my real dream of being a musician. Maybe this isn’t the right place to ask this because any career in entertainment is typically seen as an unrealistic goal, but its been my goal since I was a child.</p>

<p>Due to a long list of complications and the complete lack of peer and familial support and lack of resources (financial and otherwise); I was never able to get singing lessons (which go at min. $75 an hour where I live), though I was always active in choirs. </p>

<p>However, I eventually came to realize that my lack of natural talent needed to be aided by a private instructor, which is still currently out of my reach because any spare money I have goes to school (college isn’t cheap!).</p>

<p>I don’t know what to do. I’m not naturally gifted and while I love school I love music more, its been a passion I’ve had throughout my life but I feel my time is running out.</p>

<p>First of all you, can totally be a musician if you want to in your spare time. There are plenty of college students who pick up an instrument during their time in school (guitar is an easy one that comes to mind). If you want to sing, then sing. You can get into songwriting even. However, there’s a huge difference between doing all this as a hobby and professionally. The odds of ever becoming a famous artist are slim to none even for those who have dedicated their lives to that ambition. </p>