Is it worth studying languages at college?

I love languages, so I studied French and German and college. I struggled to find a job in any sector, let alone one where I could use my languages. So now I am doing a PhD in translation almost to buy me time to find a job, although I am still not very hopeful about that. It seems to me that studying languages prepares you for no specific jobs, except translator/ interpreter or a language teacher. There are loads of translators all trying to get what little translation work is out there and it seems kind of soul-destroying to be teaching kids to speak a language when you know they will struggle like you to find a job if they pursue the subject beyond school. So, is it really worth studying languages at college? I think when I have kids I will be advising them not to.

I understand where you’re coming from. Have you considered, though, applying your understanding of the languages/ cultures to other areas? For example, you may want to consider law school or business school. Maybe find businesses that do cross-border work into Europe or Francophone African countries or Haiti. Starting even at a low level can give you important experience that you can take into Business School programs. Language, like other liberal arts degrees, require creative thought about how to use your skills. Social workers who work with these populations also need language skills. The court system needs people who have language skills, even if they aren’t interpreters or attorneys–large cities have French-speakers in the population. In some large cities, there are bilingual French-English elementary schools. Law as a lawyer can include cross-border transactions with Europe and the other countries mentioned.