Is Miami Worth It?

<p>Well I'm a California resident and I plan on applying EA to Miami. I will need a scholarship (24, 16, or 11 thousand) to make the tuition comparable to the UC's instate cost. Well my parents don't really want me to go 3000 miles away, but I still really like UM. UCSB is my favorite school in California and I would go there over any other UC, but I still want to go to UM. </p>

<p>So what I'm really trying to ask......assuming the cost is around the same......would you go to UM over UCSB even though you're going 3000 miles away and your parents want you to stay in California and you will be in a completely unfamiliar area. </p>

<p>I really want to give UM a chance bc they have majors that I actually like (media management and meteorology)....so advice or comments will be greatly appreciated.</p>

<p>
[quote]
So what I'm really trying to ask......assuming the cost is around the same......would you go to UM over UCSB even though you're going 3000 miles away and your parents want you to stay in California and you will be in a completely unfamiliar area.

[/quote]
</p>

<p>Part of the education is leaving all that you know.......going far from home and making a new life. Chances are you will return to CA once your 4 years are done. South Beach is definitely worth it. Are you kidding? Are you male or female?</p>

<p>I'm male by the way. But my parents keep telling me I can't go to Miami, but I just say I'm the one who is working hard in high school and if I get a scholarship you have no say in where I will go. But i just wanted to hear other thoughts. And by the area is Miami nicer than Santa Barbara?</p>

<p>More international and definitely hipster. NOT CA and more continental.</p>

<p>If your parents are the one's paying for it, then I think they will have a say in where you can and cannot go.</p>

<p>A couple of thing:</p>