Joining the Navy Reserves right after GW?

@NHuffer I am recent graduate of George Washington School of Business looking to do a JD/MBA 4-5 years down the road. I graduated from GW Business in 2018 and have recently enlisted in the US Navy Reserves. I go to MEPS next week and my practice AFQT score is 87. I was wondering what career opportunities there are in the US Navy for a recent college graduate with a business degree and these scores? Would it be possible to secure a full-time job in the navy right after college even though I will be joining the reserves?

Is there a reason you want to enlist vice getting a commission? Enlisting means joining ranks with recent high school graduates. Don’t get me wrong- it’s been done before by college grads (I know of a few, personally, that went that route), but it’s usually because the desired jobs are enlisted-only.

As far as jobs that you can do with a business degree: just about anything. If you want to enlist, then there aren’t any prereq’s for any of those jobs. The enlisted corps of every branch works on a “on the job training” mentality, so you’ll go to a school after bootcamp (anywhere from a few weeks to a year, depending on the job you choose), and then you’ll learn the rest during drill weekends (if you’re a reservist) or at your first duty station, if you join full-time. As far as the officer corp, the only jobs you can’t do with a business degree are nurse, doctor, and lawyer, I believe. Any other job, just like the enlisted folks, you’ll learn upon completion of Officer Candidate School (boot camp for officers). So that means you could be a pilot, surface warfare officer (boat driver), intel officer, or even a SEAL. Essentially, a business degree doesn’t pigeon-hole you into any particular job, nor would it make you that much more qualified than your basic enlistee or officer candidate.