Nanoscience Virginia Tech vs Louisiana Tech

My D has been accepted to both Virginia Tech and Louisiana Tech in Nanoscience undergraduate majors. She is having a tough time deciding between the two. She is out of state at both. Louisiana Tech is offering a huge scholarship. They also have a track that is more designed for what she eventually wants to do after graduate school. However she has always wanted to attend Virginia Tech. She spent some time there last summer at Nano camp and feels that the new research facilities and the professors met are amazing. Not to mention the better reputation that Virginia Tech has.

Please chime in on your experience on either School especially if you have experience within one of the Nano programs.

Also, one of the nano professor’s at Virginia Tech is currently doing research in Cancer treatment, which is D’s end goal.

@scmom2017 As a Louisiana resident, I would not recommend the schools here. The funding is being butchered and the schools are taking a heavy blow. Hope this helps!

Super late response here…Louisiana’s budget has been hit hard lately, and yes some cuts have been made in higher ed. The last special session held ended in a positive way for higher education (no further cuts) which was not the expected outcome. To me, this is a positive sign.

I love Louisiana Tech, and the atmosphere is ultimately going to be extremely different than Virginia Tech. I’ve been here for nearly a year now and EVERY professor I’ve had (last two quarters, this one is just starting) has known my name.

As far as Nano goes, nano and biomed are the only two engineering majors that are given their own buildings dedicated solely to those majors and research associated with them. This shows that the university definitely has an interest and a commitment to the nano program and sees it as a huge asset.