Need advice on junior course selection in high school for future CS/maths major

I am a sophomore. This year I selected AP CSP. There are two options I can choose in the next 2 years

(1) AP CSA in Junior and Data structure (duel enrollment) in Senior. (I don’t have room for AP statistics in senior year)

(2) Data structure (duel enrollment) in junior. Take AP CSA exam by self learning in Junior. And AP statistics/IOS programming in Senior.

Which one is more impressive for the AO? I don’t know whether skip AP CSA class is bad or not. But I also think the score of Data structure in Junior is impressive. What do you think?

You don’t need to impress an Adcom. You need to get solid preparation for whatever comes next.

Self studying (if your HS offers the AP class) is rarely the best move. And why AP Stats (which is considered the “easy” math AP) instead of BC Calc (the “hard” math)???

1 Like

Wrong question. What do you like? How much experience do you have of programming?

1 Like

No point in doing that.

It’s difficult to advise in a vacuum, without seeing the rest of your courses. Only if you have 4 years of each of the 5 core subject areas (Eng, SS, Sci, FL, Math) should you add AP CS and data structure. Will that be the case?

I agree with blossom AP Calc BC or even AB > AP Stats > AP CSA and data structures…even if you want to be a CS major. Certainly if you want to be a math major.

2 Likes

I will take AP Calc BC in Junior year. The most frustrated thing is the course that I need to select other than the 5 main core courses. I will apply for a CS/maths major. So I know data structure is very hard and I will definitely keep it on my list. The question is to take it in junior or in senior and the trade off.

Would you get credit for this class at the colleges you are planning to apply?

Yes, I will select AP Calc BC in junior. Maths is one of my options for the future major.