Non-accredited degree acceptance at UC's?

I finished an engineering program abroad the US that is not recognized by any of the UCs. But I wanted to go to school here.

Is there anything wrong with going to cc and then transferring to a UC basically to start fresh? Will I be able to get TAG?

I am a permanent resident so I was just thinking of doing another major. I’m not bummed if the credits I took are worthless because my grades in the foreign school were not very good.

Opinions / advices welcome. Thanks for reading!

Did you have your foreign academic records formally evaluated? That is what you need to do before you take this process any further. You are required to submit your foreign records when you apply to degree programs in the US. It doesn’t matter if that college/university won’t award you transfer credit and decides to make you start over from the beginning, you still need to send official copies of your records.

Check the websites of the universities that you are interested to find out which evaluation organizations are acceptable to them. Most (if not all) of the colleges and universities in the US, and the US federal government accept evaluations performed by WES. http://www.wes.org/

Once you have the official evaluations, go meet with the international admissions officers at the UCs that you are interested in, they will be able to interpret your foreign records and will be able to tell you what your options are.

You posted the same question in the international student subforum; here’s the answer I gave you there.

“I would look into making your current degree “count.” Of course, you could start over at a cc, but many UCs won’t accept students for a second bachelor’s degree, or only in certain fields. You need to check with UC campuses how that would affect your situation. You may have to go to a California state university for your bachelor’s instead.”