nursing to engineering?

<p>I am currently a freshman majoring in nursing. Although I know I would make a good nurse and wanted to work in the ER, I am starting to change my mind. I am not a people person and do not want to talk to people all day. I also would not like the long stressful shifts of being a nurse and all of the vaccines that nurses are required to get. I thought I wanted to be a nurse but I am unsure now.</p>

<p>I also know that there are many job choices for nurses but I have heard that the shortage of nurses is a lie and that many can’t even find jobs. With the way the health system is going, it might not be good to stay there.</p>

<p>I have been looking into engineering and am interested in biomedical engineering, but would probably major in electrical or mechanical engineering and then maybe back to school for my masters in biomedical engineering. </p>

<p>A reason I am interested in engineering is because I really liked physics in high school. Also, as a nursing major, there are no math courses that I need to take. I am interested in understanding how things work and changing things to make them better.</p>

<p>I understand engineering is very difficult and the reason I chose nursing was because I got accepted into a university that has a very good program. I thought it was the best opportunity for me. Now almost halfway through freshman year, I am realizing that I do not really like the school I am at and I would rather be closer to home, Chicago. I could also save money by commuting.</p>

<p>How can I be sure that I want to give engineering a try?</p>