Oxford (Math+CS) vs. Georgia Tech (CS)

Hi there I’m an offer holder for both GT and Oxford, and I’m an international student looking to eventually find a job in the states. I’m curious on which of these two schools will best help me achieve that goal, along with better career prospects. I’m also extremely interested in law & sociology (half of my resume is STEM and the other half liberal arts) so I’m also looking for opportunities to enrich myself in these professions as well (e.g. dropping in on oxford lectures or enrolling in courses at Emory). Please share your advice!

Where do you want to end up after graduation?

Both schools have excellent reputation, with Oxford being the “better” name.
The workload at both school will somewhat keep you from “enriching” yourself, but having options are nice.

If this was up to me, I’d pick Oxford … just can’t give up that unique experience.

1 Like

Nothing can be certain about that but more likely to find a job in the US with a US degree.

You should also be prepared to return to your country. In that case, which college will open more doors for you there?

Neither of your colleges are going to be useful for that.

1 Like

For a CS major who wants to work in the US, I’d say GT is the bigger name.

@TerrieY - getting a job in the US requires finding an employer who’s willing to sponsor your work visa (and eventually, a green card). It’s not easy and there are no guarantees you’ll find such an employer. You should keep that in mind and be prepared to return to your home country after graduation.

7 Likes

The math+cs focus in your Oxford app does not align with your interest in law & sociology. Why did you apply to that course?

If your goals have changed, GT will be more flexible in changing your major. But that only helps you for undergrad… what do you want to do post-grad? If law school, where do you want to practice?