paying off loans

<p>Im an out of state student who got into purdue. me and my parents are in a continual argument of where to go, the UCs or Purdue. I want to go to purdue, but my rents want me to go to one of the UCs; Ive gotten admitted to the engineering dept at purdue and its hard for me to pass this opportunity up. my parents say that if i go there ill be sinking in a 150K loan which will hinder me from buying a car, getting a house loan, and will basically take a prolonged period of time to pay off, thus causing more of a set back if i go to purdue. (i disagree COMPLETELY). is this true? how long will a loan like this take to payoff im planning to go to graduate school, and most probably go to a business school to get an MBA, i say it can be done.....but to my parents they say i should just stay in cali. please give me some facts about purdue!</p>

<p>i also want to know about how "hot" this school is for companies to recruit etc</p>

<p>150K is a sizable amount to pay off indeed. And if you are planning to go to grad school a UC might be better for you as, from what i have heard, its less *****y against your grades and typically once u get a degree from grad school nobody cares about where u did ur UG work. ill ask my pops about that though with MBA/BSE combos as that is what he has. </p>

<p>as for that 150 figure, does that mean your parents will pay for a UC, but not purdue? since even if u went to a UC that would be ~85k as compared to more specifically 128k, which is actually "only" a difference of 43k. (brought down from 150 at least)</p>

<p>oh and on another note, which UCs are u comparing it to? (due to the subjectiveness of that "hot" comment)</p>

<p>well its not like they "wont" pay for it...they just say that its not worth spending that much money blah blah blah....hot schools meaning UCSD, UCI, UCD.</p>

<p>I mean which UCs do you have the option of going to? (or at least might have the option of going to)</p>