Private Online School vs. Public School for College Goals

I’m currently facing a bit of a dilemma regarding my education path, I’m a sophomore, and I’ve been attending an online private school. I’m wondering whether this choice is better than attending a regular public school, considering my goals for college admission. Here’s a bit of background on my academic journey so far:

In my previous classes, I’ve taken Honors English 1, Honors Algebra 2, Honors Geometry, Honors Biology, Honors Algebra 1, Honors World Cultures, Honors Philosophy and Ethics, French 1, Arts and Society 1, and Coding 1A.

Currently, I’m enrolled in Honors Pre-Calculus, AP Statistics, AP Physics 1, Honors Chemistry, French 2, AP Euro History, AP Microeconomics, Honors English 2, Health 1, and PE 1.

My concern is that, despite the flexibility and opportunities provided by an online school, I’m limited in terms of extracurricular activities and the social experiences that come with a traditional public school. I’ve also come across discussions suggesting that my school might not be as respected by top colleges. Given my ambition to attend a reputable college, I’m wondering if it would be a better option to save money and attend a local private school, which might provide more opportunities for involvement and a stronger reputation.

I’m genuinely torn between these two options and would really appreciate any advice or experiences you all could share.

One of the 1st things you should do is speak with the head of your program at your school and ask for the past 5 years data on college admission acceptances. This info will help you understand where students are attending, where accepted, ideally see test/gpa stats to help you understand more how the program is perceived and where you fit into to those stats.

7 Likes