Settle with engineering BS or pursue a physics Ph.D?

I am approaching the end of my freshman year of college and I am a declared engineering mechanics major but I am starting to wonder if I should switch my major to physics and try for a physics Ph.D. Since I was a freshman in high school I always thought getting a Ph.D. in physics would be wonderful but I went with engineering because I thought it would incorporate my love of science in math in a way that could be stable and sustainable professionally. I am concerned though that if I stick with engineering, my career will end up taking me to a position in management and remove me from the science and math and modeling and theories (the aspect that drew me to it). I am thinking if I receive a Ph.D. in physics, my life would be dedicated to research and I would never stop learning and be surrounded by science. I am very stuck.

There are PhD programs in engineering. There are folks out there with PhDs in physics who finished their undergrad degrees in engineering. You don’t have to decide this yet.

Yeah, agreed. You don’t have to decide this now. But here are some tidbits:

-Being a researcher and having a PhD is not the only way to never stop learning and be surrounded by science.

-Stopping with a BS in engineering doesn’t mean that you have to move into management and be removed from the modeling and science work. First of all, there are lots of roles for high-level individual contributors (ICs, or what we call folks who are not managers). Second of all, some managers still do a lot of scientific work. Third of all, it’s hard to predict what you’re going to want to do in 10-15 years - by then, maybe you find that you really like managing people and could use a break from being immersed in the day-to-day bench work. In technology people go back and forth from manager to IC pretty often.