Spring Rush?

<p>Im a freshman here at UA and i was contemplating doing spring rush. when do i found out what sororities are going to be doing spring rush and what is spring rush like?</p>

<p>It will be after spring semester starts. Sororities will have to see how many don’t return after first semester, after December graduation etc. It likely will be only two-three-four - something like that. Continuous Open Bidding (“spring rush”) is nowhere near like the big formal recruitment in August. There are no rounds, no parties, no bid day. You sign up at the Panhellenic office, and you may get a call or e-mail inviting you to, say, lunch or dinner at the house, or to meeting a small group of members for coffee, to come watch a move at the house or someone’s apartment. After two or three such gatherings, you may get a call or e-mail inviting you to join. It’s much more relaxed and casual than formal recruitment.</p>

<p>You may get invitations from all eligible groups…or you may not. Some sororities may only have two or three spaces to fill and they already have candidates in mind.</p>

<p>There is no definitive action to say they’re NOT inviting you to join. They just don’t invite you over any more. Sometimes there may be a week or two between invitations, so you may think you’ve been dropped but they’ve just been busy. In this way, COB is more confusing for candidates.</p>

<p>If you sign up and visit a house or two and decide not to pledge - no harm no foul. You can still sign up for recruitment next fall. Sororities will not “penalize” you in any way if you choose not to join this semester.</p>

<p>News on COB: I copied this from the UA Panhellenic site:</p>

<p>Alabama Panhellenic Association Open COB Process</p>

<p>Posted By: Greek Affairs, October 23, 2014 </p>