Stressing about grades

i’m a straight a student, but my math grades so far this year have been… not great. in quarter 1 i had a c+ and in quarter 2 i had a b. however, i am in the honors program at my school and up until this year my grades in math have never been this low. my poor grades in math combined with my 79th quantitative percentile on the ssat have led to me stressing about how they might affect my chances of admission, especially in a competitive applicant pool.

stats for context:

• asian american, over represented state (MA), full pay
  • ssat: 79 quant, 98 reading, 98 verbal (98 overall)
  • applying to 7 boarding schools for 10th grade admission (andover, concord, groton, governor’s academy, milton, nobles, and st. paul’s). i’m reapplying to andover, concord, milton, and nobles because i got waitlisted from them last year lol.
  • heavily involved in dance (12+ hours per week, was clara in my city’s production of the nutcracker this year) and piano (national competitions, performed in carnegie hall 5+ times). i submitted dance and piano video portfolios to all the schools and received some very nice feedback from some! when i visited st. paul’s i also took class with their amazing ballet company.
  • volunteering: i provide free piano lessons to low-income children around boston and i tutor english to students in ukraine
  • vice prez of freshman student council at my school, asian student union member (that doesn’t really mean much because anyone can join haha)
  • all of my interviews went so well - i’m still in touch with quite a few of my interviewers - and my essays were great because i told my stories well and showed unique perspectives. i got them reviewed by my educational consultant and a family friend (whom i don’t know well) that works in college admissions.

if anyone is having a similar experience, or has any advice, please feel free to share :smiling_face_with_tear:

1 Like