The Outsider....Is Miami all that?

<p>Im a student at Loyola University chicago, and I've decided I have had enough of being treated as an outsider. At my current school, everyone seems to know each other since kindergarden, where I came from Brazil to study here in America. I recently applied to Northwestern, and U miami and got accepted into both. Im sure you get TONS of questions such as "which should I go to..", but I have already made up my mind that another -20 winter will kill me. What I do want to ask however, is just overall, how students like Miami.</p>

<p>Please post, good things about Miami, bad things, (the kind of thing you realize after you study there....). Im a pre-med Neuroscience student, so if you know anything good about that please throw it in there.</p>

<p>What I am really asking is help me get a feel for the school, I want to know what its like living there, but not the typical "oh its wonderful, its sunny...", try the "food gets repetitive, people constantly gather at the beach, etc.."</p>

<p>Thanks for the help here, I just need the kick in the back to pick up my bags and leave chicago, convince me away!</p>

<p>Some people love UM and some don't. It's not for everyone. The academics are solid and they have some wonderful programs and to a certain extent they try and please, but it lacks a real personal, warm and welcoming feeling. Now that I have had some experience with a small state university, I realize the shortcomings of UM in that the individual services are lacking. It's hard to find real help for issues you might have. My son would have to bounce from dept. to dept. to try and get help on things like signing up for certain classes, declaring a major, parking tickets, parking issues, health issues.....they just weren't willing or able to help enough. It felt more like a giant system that wouldn't accomodate him.</p>