Transferring Junior Year

<p>Hi all,</p>

<p>I graduated high school in 2010 with a 3.55 GPA and a 26 on the ACT. I had applied to Madison, only to get wait-listed. I ended up deciding to go to UW-Platteville.</p>

<p>I'm currently a sophomore, pursuing a degree in mechanical engineering. I'll admit, my first year I slacked off extensively (combination of too much freedom at once and overconfidence in my abilities... plus college chemistry and calculus are brutal), landing myself a 2.67 weighted GPA for the year.</p>

<p>I'm now half way through the current semester, taking a combination of physics, statics, calculus 2, and some other courses. As it stands, I'm on track to make it on the dean's list for the semester with about a 3.8 GPA, which would bring my cumulative weighted GPA up to ~3.01. The funny thing is that my GPA is higher unweighted than weighted. I'm not sure which they would be looking at. If unweighted, then I'd jump up to about a 3.125.</p>

<p>I've been extremely active in a few extra curriculars (Engineers Without Borders, ASME, and a multimedia club) this semester, and I've also spent the past two summers working in manufacturing at a local company, getting hands on experience in a field I'll be working in some day. I'm also planning on getting letters of recommendation from an English professor I got along with very well, as well as my current physics professor who I also have a good relationship with. </p>

<p>I know my grades definitely are not hot, but I'm curious as to what my chances may be, all said and done. I'm hoping that my improvement in grades demonstrates that I've gotten my act together. </p>

<p>Cheers.</p>

<p>P.S. I'm a Wisconsin resident. Born and raised in Madison.</p>