UC Chance - how much does leadership count for?

<p>I graduated from high school in California in 2008 and since then have moved to Israel and enlisted in the army for 2 years in a high leadership position and have now returned to California in order to (hopefully) attend a UC.
I was wondering if that would increase of decrease my chances of admittance. </p>

<p>High school GPA is low - 3.74
Sat - 2010 (w=720, r= 540, m=750)
sat subject test in Hebrew - 780
Besides my 2 years in the army i was a counselor in the Israeli scouts for 2 years during high school leading a group of 20 kids each year, and took both Hebrew and Spanish classes throughout highschool. </p>

<p>I know my stats aren’t too high but I was wondering if maybe my “different” ECs would help. I believe my personal statements were pretty strong, I wrote them about my leadership position in the Israeli military.
I applied for bio major at UCSD, UCI, Davis, UCB, UCLA and UCSB.</p>

<p>Any advice, chances or just thoughts would be greatly appreciated. I know were all stressing over acceptances at this time. Good luck to all!</p>

<p>Just in general if anyone even has any thoughts on how much the uc’s take leadership experience into consideration</p>

<p>Leadership may not be extremely large, but I know for a fact that they LOVE students who go into the armed forces.</p>

<p>Yeah? I wasn’t so sure since I was in the Israeli army not American… Hopefully though my enlistment will work to my benefit at at least some of the UCs… I’ll take what I can get :)</p>

<p>Your extensive life experiences will certainly outweigh your stats (which are decent in the first place). The leadership position is just a bonus. I’m just going to assume that these experiences will be the focus of your personal statements. IMO, you have a really high chance at all of the UC’s (except maybe the ones, if any, that are still on the funky point-based system for admission)</p>