UCR or...?

So I am accepted to CSULA and waitlisted to UCR. Should I wait for UCR’s decision or just go to CSULA?
I’m majoring in psychology.

I want to go to UCR because I really want to experience the dorm life, but I live too close to CSULA to dorm there. Also, UCR is one of the lower UC’s and some call it UCRejects… and it’s located in the desert; people say that it is boring and lifeless with no clubs there. If I go to CSULA, I will save money, but money isn’t really one of my concerns… And CSULA isn’t a really good college either.

Someone please give me advice and opinions.

And if I am able to attend UCR, would it really be hard to transfer to another UC after 2 years? I heard that it is and that UC’s don’t encourage it. Is transferring from a UC to UC easier than transferring from CSU to UC?

Based on your post, you have neither visited UCR or have not done enough research. A school with an average GPA of 3.69, is not a school for Rejects. Before UCM was established, UCR was the default campus for ELC applicants that were denied acceptance into their choice UC, so UC for rejects. UCR has been climbing up in rankings over the past several years. As for location, yes it is not in the most desirable area, but you live in SoCal, we all live in a desert here. As for boring, you make your own fun. There are plenty of things to do around campus as long as you actively seek them out. Do not going into a school with the assumption of transferring in 2 years. First, UC to UC transfers are possible but difficult and secondly, you may find after a year that you will change your mind.

If you plan to transfer, going the CC route and using TAG (Transfer Guarantee) would be preferable. CSU to UC route is even more difficult. Stick with the CC if possible.

You have to make a decision before May 1, so either accept CSULA until you hear from UCR or apply to your local CC and pursue the transfer route.