UCSD Chancellors v. UCB Spring

<p>UCSD is offering $5000 a year, guaranteed four year housing, and first choice in classes, while basically nothing is guaranteed for me at Berkeley. I am majoring in biology, (Human Bio. at UCSD versus MCB at Berkeley) and may enter grad school if I stick with the major. Undergrad school does not make nearly as much difference as the grad school I get into so Berkeley’s prestige is basically useless to me then. Also, it seems that every MCB major is Pre-med and extremely competitive and goal oriented. I just want to learn a lot. Some of my friends in MCB, who used to be such optimistic people seem sad and stressed, while others love their major. Getting Berkeley Spring Admissions really discourages me.</p>

<p>So… this should be an easy choice right? </p>

<p>Unfortunately, the plane ticket and taxi to the airport, in order to go home for the year, will basically equal $5000 and UCSD is about 8 hours away by car. I’m worried that I’ll feel homesick, which is very likely, as I felt miserable the last time I left home for two months in the summer. Meanwhiles, UCB is only a tram ride away and my parents can meet me at Davis, which is less than 30 minutes car ride from home.</p>

<p>My other main concern is the fact that if I decide that biology is not right for me, I will have less choices of highly ranked majors to switch into at UCSD, except for economics and political sciences. Berkeley is better for four year degrees. If I decide not to do Biology and not to a grad school, I still have the Berkeley name. (Prestige isn’t everything, but may help in the very first job I get.) I’m very uncertain right now about majors… a humanities or english type major could be a possibility for me as they are my greatest strengths in high school. </p>