UCSD Pre-Medical Program

<p>Hello, I am a senior in high school and got accepted to the Revelle COllege at UCSD for neuroscience and physiology. I have been hearing a lot lately that UCSD has a very good pre med program. i was wondering if anyone such as former undergrads, med students, etc has any advice for an incoming pre med student that include:</p>

<p>-Should I take any summer school classes to get a head start?
-Should I switch my major to another one in the Biological Sciences that may be less difficult/more interesting?
-Do I have a better chance of getting accepted to the UCSD med school if I went there for undergrad? Same question for acceptances to other UC’s such as UCLA or UCF.
-What other activities should I take part in to increase my chances of getting into med school?
-Does UCSD have a better pre-med program than the other UC’s because I also got accepted to UCD, UCI, and UCB?
-Is UCSD a good school in general?</p>

<p>I am a very devoted student and would love to become a doctor one day, so I am willingly to try very hard.</p>

<p>I would be appreciative if anyone could answer any of my questions. </p>

<p>Thank you.</p>

<p>Just a parent here, and the answer to your questions are standard:</p>

<p>1) You can, but med schools prefer to see a full, regular load during the year. Thus, they don't want you to take the sciences over the summer or take GE's over the summer so you can have a lighter load Sept - June. But, if you want to participate in study abroad or explore another non-science passion, summer session is a great opportunity to do that.</p>

<p>2) Med schools don't care about major. Just grades and test scores, primarily.</p>

<p>3) UCs don't care, so in general, no.</p>

<p>4) Research in the health field can help, but A's and a great MCAT is 80-90% of the game.</p>