UNC Biology w/ Honors Carolina & Accelerated Research Program vs UT Austin Biochemistry (Pre-Med)

If cost wasn’t a factor, which would be the best choice based on opportunities, community, culture, reputation, and I guess best set up for medical school?? I’m still learning about each school, and was wondering if anyone who knows a lot about them could provide pros/cons of each as a pre-med

UNC has a med school. UTA does not. That’s for starters. Also, UNC is extremely rigorous. Frankly, reputation of the school is less important for pre-meds. Go to a school where you can shine.

Paging @thumper1 and @WayOutWestMom that have more knowledge than I do.

UTA does have a med school.

Dell School of Medicine opened in 2013.

But @1dadinNC is right.

The name of your undergrad is much less important than what you accomplish during undergrad. Both UNC and UTA will offer you everything you need to be a successful pre-med.

My advice to pre-meds is to choose the school that offers the best combination of

• *Fit–because happier students do better academically (and there is objective research to back this up)

• opportunity–including the opportunity to find mentoring from professors, to expand their interests and worldview, and to explore other careers besides medicine. (Only about 16% of freshman premeds actually persist all the way through to apply to med school. Most drop out not because they can’t hack the coursework, but because they find more interesting, less time-intensive careers along the way. Also of those 16% who persist and actually do apply to med school, 60% fail to get a single acceptance. Every pre-med needs to have a Plan B career plan.)

• Cost–because med school is hideously expensive (well, maybe not if you live in Texas…) and there is very little aid except for loans, loans and more loans. Undergrads need to minimize any loan debt they take on for undergrad