University health insurance coverage: how exactly does it work?

<p>I sent an email to UA, but I was wondering if someone could fill me in here while I wait for their response. I am a prospective student for the Fall of 2012.</p>

<p>I’m not sure it’s mandatory (I would want to have it anyway), but how exactly does it work?</p>

<p>I read on the UA website about it’s costs, coverage, and policy, but it sounds pretty dismal. My wife is a type 1 diabetic and I was interested in getting her covered through that policy (at a whopping $4,000/yr!), but the policy seems really to cover almost nothing. It states that they do not allow coverage on preexisting conditions unless the individual has been on the policy for 12 months. It’s hard to argue that type 1 diabetes is not a preexisting condition so that means non of our expenses for her illness would be covered for the first year. Is this exactly how it works, or is the info on the site misleading somehow?</p>

<p>Thanks for everything.</p>

<p>Sorry, never mind, found it:</p>

<p>PRE-EXISTING CONDITION means any condition which originates, is
diagnosed, treated or recommended for treatment within the 12 months
immediately prior to the Insured’s Effective Date under the policy unless:
a) The Insured was previously covered by this policy in the prior plan for 12
continuous months without a break in coverage, and/or
b) The enrollee/applicant provides a Certificate of Creditable Coverage to
UnitedHealthcare StudentResources (UHCSR) at P.O. Box 809025, Plano, TX
75380-9026 to document prior coverage with another health plan for the past 12
months. Prior coverage for less than 12 months will be given partial credit
towards the 12 months requirement for the 2011-2012 policy year.</p>

<p>My wife is currently enrolled in a health care plan and has been for more than 12 months continuously. Still I think the price is a little high for giving nearly no coverage. . . Thanks to those who read this anyway.</p>

<p>turtle…</p>