University of Alabama Degree good for job in California?

I am currently in my first semester of community college in California and am very interested in going to University of Alabama to experience a new place and because it is so cheap. I plan to move back to California after i graduate to look for a job. I am going to major in accounting and was wondering if getting a degree from University of Alabama would look good on an application in California. Thanks.

There is a large contingent of UA students from California as well as a strong UA parent base that has fallen in love with UA.

Considering that over 60% of the student body at UA is from out of state, I can not see how it would hurt. Rmember, most of the residents of California most likely came from another state as well and moved to CA for a job or other reasons.

There is a UA dad here in Texas that has hired several UA grads recently as he was so impressed with the school.

While you are at UA, or any other school you end up attending, network! All of your classmates have parents that have jobs and may be in HR, over a certain department, etc. Also, take a look at the compaines that recruit at UA in your field. UA has a strong career department and hosts many job fairs.

Good luck

An Accounting degree from Alabama will be very well respected.

However, going to Alabama from OOS will not be “cheap”. Why do you think that?

Mom2collegekids: From what I have searched on google the OOS tuition cost is only $12,475 whereas all of the other colleges I have looked at are around 20,30,40 thousand.

Hey, also do you guys think that it would be smarter for me to transfer after my first year or would I be taking the same classes at my community college. The problem is that I would like to transfer so that I can get on track with them but if I do not need to then I would like to stay because I currently play college soccer for my community college and I have one year left of eligibility at this level.