"Unusual" circumstances and admissions.

<p>I'm currently a senior applying to several highly-selective schools knowing that I more than likely have no chance. I say this because my GPA is not competitive for those schools (3.0) but the rest of my application sounds feasible. I go to a top 100 high school that happens to be an inner-city school and have taken the most rigorous curriculum I was allowed to take (counselors prevented me from enrolling in the IB program because of my low GPA sophomore year). </p>

<p>I am also a Hispanic student who has been recognized as gifted, and I was recently diagnosed with A.D.H.D. After being diagnosed and beginning treatment, I experienced a massive upward grade trend -- my 1st semester GPA of my junior year was 2.1 weighted (3 IB-HL classes) but my 2nd semester GPA was a 4.3. This trend continued into the first quarter of senior year, but then I noticed my medication dosage became less effective, so my psychiatrist raised it. The medication worked well for the first two days, but after that, I slept only 30 minutes a night. I was sleep deprived for about 2 weeks before stopping the medication (I have struggled with sleeping patterns before, but 30 minutes of sleep a night was a new experience that I thought would have quickly subsided). The sleep deprivation practically turned me into a zombie: most of my attention went towards staying awake, and my grades suffered, killing my upward grade trend. </p>