Virginia tech vs SBU vs Umass amherst

I’m an international student and I got into Virginia tech, Umass Amherst and Stony Brook University. I’m a computer science major and I need help deciding which one is the best pick for me, keeping in mind internship opportunities, job offers after graduation, prestige of the school, the general vibe and of course the reputation of the computer science program. Cost isn’t really too much of a factor since all 3 lie in the 35 K to 40K range but being offered a $12K chancellors scholarship by Umass Amherst, my parents want me to attend Umass. I’m personally leaning towards Virginia tech because I have relatives in Virginia and I like the school generally. I would really appreciate a detailed response. Thanks

I’ve heard the Umass amherst computer science program is very good. As a parent who will be paying for college I I think you should consider your parent’s wishes carefully. 12k x 4 = 48K. That’s a decent amount of money. CS graduates are in demand period. I don’t think where you earned your degree makes much difference. Amherst is a college town, close to a number of very goods schools. I’m also pretty sure a coach service runs there from Boston. Flights to nearest airports are a consideration. VT is impossible to get to easily. StonyBrook is a trainride from NYC? You really need to think logistically if you are either OOS or international.

@SQBrit‌ thanks. The reason I’m mostly hesitating to attend umass is because it’s considered more of a party school and Virginia tech is generally considered to be a good engineering school so I feel that could affect job opportunities after graduating. Logistics is definitely a factor since I’ll probably be travelling to va and nc every now and then