VT COE and honors program

<p>In the College of Engineering is there a big difference in the quality of education received depending on whether a student is/ is not in the honors program. Would a student that is not in the honors program be deprived of certain opportunities only given to honors program participants? </p>

<p>The reason I am asking is because daughter was not admitted to the honors program but was admitted to honors at another college. We are trying to decide between the two. </p>

<p>I’m an upcoming freshman, so I may not have the best answers, but I don’t think there are Major specific opportunities that she will miss out on. The Honors program does offer scholarships to it’s participants regardless of their major. As for COE, there may be GPA requirements but I doubt there are any opportunities contingent upon Honors standing. And don’t forget that she can apply for Honors at the end of Freshman year anyway. I’m sure if you browse the COE website and look at scholarship/internship opportunities, you’ll be able to see the requirements. I hope this helped some! Congrats on the acceptances and good luck! :)</p>

<p>I think the better question is… is not being in honors at VT different than being in honors at the other school. </p>

<p>@undercover007 I guess this is the question I am trying to answer.