What does it mean to self-educate?

This discussion was created from comments split from: School in the 2020-2021 Academic Year & Coronavirus.

But, what does “self-education” even mean? Memorizing dates of historical events? Easier to do in technical courses than the humanities.

While all education is, at its root, self-education (no one can hit the books for you), there are not a whole lot of engineers and physicians out there that are self-taught, and I don’t think it’s just the credentialing barrier.

Even in computer programming, where the need for self-study is most evidently manifested, and there’s quite a few people in the field that are self-taught, the benefits of a quality computer science degree go well beyond getting a diploma at the end of the four years.

Well, I have a routine of watching at least one YouTube video a day of a topic I find interesting. Today I watched an interview with daryl davis, a black gentleman who converted many former KKK members. Highly inspirational individual, his lesson in patience, empathy and forgiveness that his story tells can’t be replicated in a college class.

Self-education means learning on one’s own.

Any topic taught with the assistance of an instructor and/or written materials is something that someone (or a group of people) in the past has self-educated for the very first time, whether it is something like learning about a historical event, crafting research methods in history, or coming up with a new engineering design. Indeed, a PhD is a certification that the graduate can self-educate by discovering new knowledge. Of course, other forms of self-education involve learning existing knowledge on one’s own, typically with the aid of written and/or recorded material, even though there may be no live instructor involved.