What I've been learning about benefits of all-girl schools

I’m just a mom researching schools for her daughter, so know that I am not an expert. But I listened to a podcast interviewing a researcher on the impact of single-gender schooling for women. There were a few takeaways that I found myself jotting down to share with my husband, and so I thought perhaps it would be worth sharing here too for other fellow parents of girls.

Quick background – apparently there are two major studies on all-girl education that people refer to. One was in 2009 and one was in 2016. This interview was with a researcher who was part of the 2016 team. The podcast was produced by NCGS (National Council of Girls Schools), in case anyone wants to track it down.

The researcher was admittedly not particularly sold on the idea of all-girls education when she started, but came out of the research process convinced of its tremendous value.

I will caveat ALL of this by saying I listened to the podcast while driving, and I took a few notes once I got home based on what I could remember. So this will NOT be perfect, and it will be skewed toward what I personally thought was compelling.

There were 3 main differences in single-gender educated girls versus their co-ed educated counterparts. (Note that she specifically mentioned that they controlled for other factors in order to isolate the impact of all-girls education.):

1. Academic grasp/depth was greater, meaning a deeper ability to explain concepts, such as the meaning behind equations. As a result, academic confidence and ambition was higher. This increased depth was most remarkable in science and engineering fields. Interestingly, while in 2009, this difference was also significant in math, in 2016, once they controlled for other factors, math no longer showed as big of a difference.