What makes a school "good"?

Hey everyone, I am a community colllege student looking to transfer to the UC system and have run into some complications. My CC experience has been fairly good, having great professors who can teach very well. I have a few friends already in the UC system (we are all 3rd years), and they constantly complain about how they end up having to teach themselves most of the material because they don’t understand it in class, and how all of their finals have to be curved because the average scores are around 60%. And this makes sense, as most of the professors (from their UC) are full time researchers, not teachers. However, with professors that have such low quality teaching abilities, what really considers research UC’s to be good schools? Is it the research opportunities? The campus life? Someone please explain!

I think you’re asking what makes a school considered “good” by public opinion vs an individual student, right? Because for any one student one school might be “good” and another “not good”, it’s all about what you want. But in the court of public opinion it’s about reputation, prestige, name recognition, opportunity as well as the average student’s level of accomplishment.

In the experience of the students I know who have attended both UCs and CCs they had to work harder to get less impressive grades at the UCs. So that implies the UC courses were more “rigorously” academic but you could also interpret that as the UC professors being less available or helpful. The problem of poor teaching at a University level is a fair criticism of large research institutions and it’s sometimes taken as a badge of honor that students can teach themselves difficult subjects… but I agree with you that it really shouldn’t be.