Where can I find a 9-month lease?

<p>...besides with Steve Brown or at a private dorm?</p>

<p>I am a sophomore living at The Regent, and I'm not too crazy about it so far. It's too quiet and just seems, well, "dead" socially. I have a 9-month lease, and my rent is $558/month. (My lease, however, is almost completely paid off; just one more month to pay. I decided to pre-pay my rent so I'll have more freedom with next semester's financial aid disbursement.) Anyway, I was wondering, where can I live next year that has a 9-month lease and is affordable and isn't The Regent? I was seriously thinking about the public dorms (Tripp Hall in particular) until I noticed how expensive they were.</p>

<p>I can't live at another private dorm because of finances (Lucky, Towers, etc. would be WAY too expensive for someone on finaid), but almost all of the houses and regular apartments I've looked at have 12-month leases, which I don't want. So where can I find a good 9-month lease that won't be cost-prohibitive? (I'd prefer to stay near campus and pay no more than 550-600 a month.)</p>

<p>Have you ever considered trying to sublet your apartment during the three summer months?</p>

<p>Ditto on the above. You won’t find a cheap apt with a landlord willing to risk having an empty apt for 3 months, many students look at subletting their 12 month lease for the summer. Parents often look at the 12 months’ cost compared to 9 months in the dorms when willing to pay their student’s rent. Also, you won’t find that apts are social places like the dorms are- every unit is self contained. You need to have your own friends for your social life in an apt.</p>

<p>Are the dorms really THAT MUCH of a ripoff, or do the lower food costs and household costs even it out? Also, how hard is it to find a summer subleaser?</p>