Which University I should apply to ED as an International student? [who needs financial aid]

I am an international student asking for aid and thinking about applying to ivy league universities ED. Earlier I was thinking about applying to Columbia ED but got to know it explicitly defers international student asking for aid. So, I am confused that which university should I apply to ED. I am applying for engineering, I have good international and national level extracurriculars and honors, 94% in my sophomore year, will be giving SAT soon expecting above 1480 as per practice tests.

While Columbia out right says so, you should assume that is the case for all need aware schools. They prefer to evaluate all international applicants needing aid at the same time.

2 Likes

I will repeat what people told you last year when you were a freshman in high school.

It’s far too early to think about these things. You have absolutely no idea what your profile will look like when you actually apply, so there is no point in thinking about where you should apply.

Moreover, you really need to consider what you are looking for in a university in the USA, and why you want to attend that university. “Ivy League” is a football conference, not a description of the type of universities these are. In size they vary from Dartmouth College with 4,500 undergraduates to Cornell with 15,500 undergraduates. Harvard and Columbia are Urban, Dartmouth is very rural, and Cornell is somewhere in between. Each have their own strengths and weaknesses, and education in each of them can be very different.