Why must this process be so soulcrushing?

why is the whole process of applying to college so stressful and so killing? i find it to crush my soul.

i moved to the US about 4 years ago right after finishing the equivalent of middle school in my latin american home country. graduated from high school this May. average Florida public high school w/ a lot of low-income kids (me included). traditional program, not IB sadly. in the end i graduated top 3% of my class w/ honors w/ an ok SAT (1380) after taking progressively more rigorous classes (AP and honors) each year. the main extracurricular i did was a little satire page for over a year (junior to senior year) and i found it fulfilling since i got to comment on school events along w/ practicing video editing and graphic design, things ive already done on my own for the past few years. i participated in some state-level journalism competitions and i won the highest level in the original music mix category (since i like to make music. i love music in general). since junior year i was also part of our school’s literary magazine staff and although i wasnt entirely passionate about it, i did appreciate the work i did making magazine submissions, promotional club posters and doing cutouts of student art and correcting them digitally so they can be put in the magazine. i also generally just served as an assistant for the editor-in-chief since the rest of the magazine staff didnt do a lot of stuff around senior year so it was mostly me and her working on the magazine. then i also had all the honors that i think are more common like NHS, spanish honor society, questbridge prep scholar and national college match finalist. not national merit finalist sadly since i didnt do great in the PSAT (it is quite frustrating that my school didn’t emphasize its importance. i felt unprepared. and then for the junior year SAT i felt angry that i found out we were gonna take only like a few weeks in advance.) did community service too althou