Williams vs. Vanderbilt for Economics

I am an international student from Brazil who was accepted to Williams and Vanderbilt (both with great scholarships). I plan to major in Economics and work with consulting/financial services after I graduate. Which one should I choose?

Thereā€™s no right answer. You need to give more information about what you want your experience to be like. Both are good, but theyā€™re very different.

4 Likes

If you donā€™t have US citizenship you will be looking at consulting / financial services in Brazil, not the US. Neither name will be more of an advantage than the other in Brazil, so choose the one that looks more interesting to you- that feels more like ā€˜yourā€™ place. If you havenā€™t visited both of them watch a bunch of videos. Their personalities are pretty different.

5 Likes

They are two very different types of colleges.

Vanderbilt is a large private research university, with 7,000 undergraduates and 3,000 graduate students (PhD and masters). Faculty split their time between teaching and research, and split the teaching between graduate students and undergraduate students. There are more faculty, and a more diverse set of topics in the field

Itā€™s in the South, and itā€™s in a large city, Nashville, Tennessee. Nashville has around 700,000 people, and there are around 1.9 million people in the urban area. The weather is generally hot and humid in the summer, warms and humid in the Spring and Fall, and cool and dry, sometime cold and dry, in the winter.

William is a small Liberal Arts College, with 2,000 undergraduates and some 50 masters students. It is focussed almost entirely on undergraduate education, and faculty teach undergraduates and their primary job description, followed by research. With fewer students, and therefore fewer faculty, with fewer topics.