Wrong School Help

I am a freshman at an in state SUNY school. I feel as if I don’t belong and this is not the school for me. Without reason my mental health became dangerous, and I don’t quite know why. I have zero academic or social interest in being here. I have all of the interest for Clemson. That feeling of knowing when a school is meant for you, I get that whenever I picture myself on that campus. The problem comes in with finances and this current semester. If I were to withdrawal, would that have a negative impact on my Clemson app? What are the first steps into leaving here and following my heart. I understand that it’s a hit or miss. I may not be able to get the loans, or get in, but if I could please get some guidance on going on the right direction. There are so many options I know that, but I’m not sure which ones would be best to take. Thank you.

Did you apply to Clemson? If so, were you accepted and was it affordable?

No university is perfect. Anywhere you go will be some people you like and some you don’t like. Any school will have some classes that you like and some that you don’t like.

When I applied to graduate schools my “dream school” was Cornell. I was rejected. However, I got into my second choice and went there, and did really, really well. It was only a few decades later that I realized that my second choice was a better fit for me. It appears that admissions at both schools had figured this out way before I did.

All of the SUNY universities are very good. There will be people like you there, but you might not find them right away. You might want to join a club and see how it goes. If you do not like it then try a different club.

You can most likely also find counseling at your school that should be helpful. You should look for counseling as soon as you get time to do this (try to sign up today if you have a bit of time).