Holy Cross - How religious is it?

Hi

I am an international student (from Italy) and I’m considering HC because it has a good reputation, but I am not a catholic. Personally I wouldn’t mind a college that has an emphasis on spiritual life as well, but I am not sure whether I would fit in if the vast majority of students are catholic. Also my parents wouldn’t want me to go there if they thought I would be ‘indoctrinated’ in any way.

Opinions?

Wherever you go in the US, the vast majority of students are Christian. On the scale of being religiously pushy, American Catholics are at the bottom of the scale, Jesuits would be the least likely subset of Catholics to push religion. In some areas of the US, non-Catholic Christians are much more overt in terms of religion.

Holy Cross has religious symbols, statues and artwork, that is the extent of it.

In the course of 4 years, I would bet you never have a priest or nun as a professor. In fact, even in the Theology department there are only a few clergy teaching.

You shouldn’t be concerned, unless seeing religious symbols bothers you.

no that doesn’t at all. Most students in Europe are christian too. I was just worried about the actual religious life on campus, that’s all! Thank you @ScaredNJDad

Other than symbols there is no religious life unless that is what you want.

Maybe this will put you at ease, all of student residences are Coed. This is not the case at many other Catholic schools.

So if unmarried males and females can live together at Holy Cross, it certainly would not be a strict traditionally Catholic school.