I don't want to be in college any longer

Call this whatever you like, could be a rant, a rave, or maybe the only one in the room talking sense. Either way, I need to tell some of my stories to elaborate.

I graduated high school with a heap of expectations from my family. Knowing that my sister graduated from NYU with a major in Film & Television and about $100k in debt, I had no other choice but to make a more sensible option. College is becoming less and less valuable, practical, and sensible to what I want to do.

I’m currently enrolled at Saint Anselm College as a Freshman. As of the making of this post, I’ve been here for nearly a month. There are many aspects of college life I dislike here. Because I’m in a boys’ only dorm, sanitation becomes an issue rapidly. I’ll spare the details unless you’re morbidly curious. Loudness, reckless driving, and obnoxious behavior are typical here too.

Even if I wished to make new friends, Saint Anselm is a very cliquey community. Within days after Orientation ended, it was like everyone gathered in tribes, more so than when I was in high school. Any attempt to make new friends would involve this unspoken, unwritten initiation as to whether you are worthy, though that seems like any friend group you go in to.

I am more than intellectually capable of handling college, the root of the problem is that I never grew up to learn the value of hard work, grit, and self-discipline. I never had to deal with it. I tend to be quite stubborn. When I hold onto a position, I rarely let go, especially when that involves potentially one of the most massive investments of my life.