NY Times gift article: Why Doctors and Pharmacists Are in Revolt

3 Likes

Thank you for the gift link!

I agree with almost all the points made in the article. The only area where I think the author was a bit off mark was when he attributed doctors’ dislike of the new management practices to resentment over loss of prestige (e.g. that weird quote about “platinum-level social status at high school reunions and Thanksgiving dinners.”)

I do not give a crap about prestige. My former high school classmates generally don’t know I’m a doctor, and anybody at my Thanksgiving table doesn’t care (they know that I put on my pants one leg at a time.) And I formerly worked in retail and food service so I don’t think I’m “better” than workers in those industries as the author seems to imply.

What I DO think is different about my job is how extremely close the relationship we doctors have with patients (i.e. the people that our management calls customers): I have heard their worst secrets. I have seen their crotches. I hand them kleenex when they cry. (I sometimes cry myself.) I tell them when they are dying. I hold their hand when they are dying. I hand their spouses kleenex after the fact, and attend their funerals if it happens to fall on one of my days off.

So when management (usually some 29 year old dude with a recent MS in “Healthcare Management” from the local evening class diploma mill) tells me I would be more “efficient” by double booking more of my slots, yeah it pisses me off.

17 Likes

100% agree about the weird comment about prestige.

Feels like the writer had a conclusion about how physicians feel but not any evidence to back that part up.

Physicians I know aren’t worried about being the “big dog” at their high school reunion. They are more concerned about doing a good job and having the time and resources to do so.

6 Likes