The Horrible Misconception about Lewiston

Hi Everyone, I am a current Bates Student and I just want to share my experience with Lewiston. I’m sure that you have heard bad things about Lewiston when bringing up Bates. Yes, Lewiston is not a Brunswick, but it is still great. During orientation, my leaders told me that they were lucky to live in Lewiston for the last 4 years because the community is so strong (also Lewiston has great food). Brunswick is just another reason why Bowdoin kids get the “preppy” and “vineyard vine” stereotype. At Bates, you can work with some amazing people from Lewiston who have amazing stories to tell. When it is warm, it is nice to get away from Bates and walk to Lewiston. Lewiston and Bates feel completely different which is why I love the town. I hope that location is not a deciding factor if you are considering Bates. I was not thrilled when coming to Bates to live in Lewiston, but I have learned to love it. I am happy to answer any questions you have over Lewiston.

7 Likes

What is “the horrible misconception about Lewiston” ?

P.S. I have read a few descriptions of Lewiston, Maine written by Bates College students; the comments are not kind to Lewiston with one student going so far as to describe Lewiston as “the most horrible place on earth”.

I am an adult poster and my advice is simply that life is too short…

1 Like

With two mentions of its town and one of its name, it seems another college crept into a post on your college’s town.

I shared this post with my daughter, a 2020 Bates grad.
She agrees with the OP 100%.

-She thought Lewiston was a very interesting mix of people. Her view is that the Somali population revitalized Lewiston. The expat FrenchCanadians also help make Lewiston an interesting place in the least diverse state in the country.

-She loves Lisbon street and the restaurants near there.

-She loves the River Walk.

-Ditto for Mt. David and the Thorncrag Bird Sanctuary.