A minor for a Journalism major?

<p>Hello there,</p>

<p>I recently was given the great news, that I was accepted into the Magazine Journalism at the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications. I am thrilled beyond belief, seeing that I repeatedly keep hearing that Newhouse is harder to get into Columbia. I consider myself extremely lucky, but that is neither here nor there, my question is not in regards as to what are my chances of being accepted.</p>

<p>Journalism is a perfect fit for me, and Newhouse is essentially my dream school; so my major is all set. However, I am on the other hand, a bit stuck about what to do for a minor. </p>

<p>All the information says that many Newhouse students also enroll at the School of Arts and Sciences. So, I am thinking I will go that route. I have lowered down my selection to a few choices; and I was wondering if anybody could tell me anything that might help me make my decision a little easier?</p>

<p>Political Science: It seems as if it would be highly correlated with the subject, with a bit of overlap. Not to mention the program description says it prepares students for careers in Journalism. Although, I am worried that the subject may turn out to be on the boring side, seeing that while I am not overly bored by politics, they don't exactly excite me either.</p>

<p>Anthropology: I believe that depending on which classes I sign up for, that this subject will be incredibly relevant. That is mostly speculation though, and I am not positive.</p>

<p>English and Textual Studies: My English 104 teacher told me I ought to consider studying literature professionally. It seems as if it would probably be helpful, as reading and writing go hand in hand.</p>

<p>Communications and Rhetorical studies: I have no doubt about it that this would be a great fit, except I think they only except a limited number of students, and there isn't going to be any room left by this point.</p>