Academic Reputation of UW Madison

Hello Everyone! I have a question about the reputation of UW Madison. My basic concern is as to whether is it a good public university or not. I am a new student at UW Madison and I chose it over another good public university, Umich, largely because Umich was more expensive. I also thought that UW Madison was very comparable academically and especially for my major (economics). However, I’ve always been concerned about UW Madison’s reputation as a party school and how that will affect my job prospects/graduate school choices (I want to get an Econ PhD). When I ask people on the street and people on reddit, they hold Umich in much higher esteem than Madison. Everyone I met automatically assumes that everyone who goes to Umich must be necessarily smarter than Madison. This makes me feel tremendous regret for choosing UW Madison over Umich, despite the massive difference in price. After all, if everyone I know thinks that way, won’t hiring managers think that way too? It’s all just so confusing because UW Madison really does have an outstanding economics department, ranked as even better than Umich. UW seems to have many departments which are extremely comparable to UMich (like many stem programs, humanities, business) however because Umich tends to edge them out, Umich gets all the more attention. In short, right now it seems to me to be the reality that prestige is the only thing that matters, not academic quality. From my (somewhat panicking) perspective, it doesn’t matter how much material debt I would get from UMich (in the 100k range), because the immaterial benefits of prestige get me much closer to my goal of getting an Econ PhD. I’m basically wondering if anyone thinks I should make a transfer application to Umich to further my career prospects?