Actuarial Science

From looking at Bama website this is accomplished througn Finance?

Could this also be done through math w/ statistical track and adding business minor?

Anyone have experience w/ this?

Researching other schools and have seen many go through the math department.

Usually through the math department. Any math heavy major (math, applied math, engineering, econ, etc.) can start you on the path toward the actuarial exams. Keep in mind that the math required is very advanced. I have a finance degree, and I can’t even decipher the first line of an actuarial exam. Looks like a foreign language. To pass those exams, you need to understand calculus and beyond like second nature. Most business majors don’t have that depth of higher math.

FYI, my son’s girlfriend just graduated Bama with a math degree, takes her first actuarial exam next week.

math major is good prep for grad work in actuarial science

@laralei my daughter will graduate next May with a double major in math and economics and a masters in applied statistics. She has passed 2 actuarial exams and is doing her 2nd actuarial internship now. She is the next president of the Alabama Insurance Society group on campus, which has been a great group for her to be involved with. If you’d like more info from her PM me and I will put you in touch.

^ big Roll Tide for her! Where is her internship?

@chardo Since there are so few in her position I don’t want to identify her too much, although maybe I already have. But last year she was with a major health insurer and this year she wanted to try property/casualty so she is with a large company for that. If your son’s girlfriend wants any info feel free to PM me. My husband is also an actuary so he would have good info for a recent graduate.

My wife is also an actuary, so I know the drill…

Right now just looking for preliminary information. On another thread it was a suggestion at Bama, so I started looking into it.