Advice for physicist wannabe

I am a hs sophomore considering a career in physics research because I am so intrigued by dark matter, dark energy, quantum stuff etc etc. I want to know what I should do in high school to prepare myself for a career in physics research (and get into a top10 level university)

My grades and standardized test scores are good. My school doesn’t offer advanced physics courses. Should I take online dual enrollment courses? If yes, where can I find such courses? Should I take courses at Stanford ULO? Is learning advanced stuff worth it (i may still have to relearn it in college)

I cannot take F=ma due to my nationality. Are PUPC or physics bowl valued in college admissions?

I am also thinking about doing physics research in high school, but I don’t know how. I don’t have the resources to do experimental physics and don’t have the knowledge to do theoretical physics. Any recommended research areas for high school students?

Just how can I land a career in physics research? Any advice would be helpful (this is my first time posting a thread)

Since calculus and other branches of mathematics serve as the “natural languages” for many physics topics, you may want to state information about your current and intended high school math level.

1 Like

I am finishing AP Calc BC at school this semester

3 Likes

Good news: getting into a top-10 physics PhD program does not require being in a top-10 level university.

Working backwards:

1. you get a career in physics research by doing a PhD in physics. You get into a PhD program by studying physics in college and doing a lot of research while in college (and, for a decreasing number of programs, by dong well in the Physics GRE). You can get into a top-tier PhD program from the top 100 US universities (and probably more)- and you can get in from other countries as well, so you don’t have do undergrad in the US.