Advice on What I Should Do

I’ve never used this website before so forgive me if replying here is the wrong way to do it, but I’m a student and I need advice on a big decision and I figured I could ask some parents after already asking my mom and getting her opinion. I am currently unsure if I should back out of my 4 year university before it starts and go to a community college. Now that the starting date is getting closer I am worried that it’s a mistake to go into 100K+ debt rather than going to a CC for 2 years and then university for another two which would be cheaper. I’m also being considered for a job that pays anywhere from 50-55k right out of highschool (I’m good with CAD stuff). My mother is unhappy with the thought of me not going to University and I just don’t know what to do.

In general, $100K of debt is crazy. You can only borrow $27K. So your parents are borrowing the other $73K?

They, not you, will be responsible for it.

What school, what major? Can your parents not afford the tuition?

It’s very unwise - you will owe, if a 6.5% rate, $1135 a month for ten years. That’s financial strangulation.

You have to balance family desires - but it’s most likely a huge mistake.

7 Likes

Good job thinking through your options! More people should do what you’re doing!

Would it be possible to follow the path you described (live at home, take CC classes for two years) and also work part-time for the CAD job? That might allow you to knock out some foundation classes, determine what you want to major in, save money on tuition, AND make money to go towards your two years at another institution. (It’s possible that that university might be an even better fit for your long-term goals than whatever school you’ve gotten into for this fall.)