Affording W&M as an OOS

Hello everyone!

I’m a rising senior looking to major in domestic policy, global health, or something related to those majors.

W&M is a university that I’m considering, but I’m having some doubts about its affordability. I’m an out-of-state student, hailing from the South. Being an OOS, I’m already disqualified from 75% of need-based aid, as “qualified” out-of-state students can only receive up to 25% of their tuition in aid. Looking at the recent tuition costs, $67,653, need-based aid would require me to pay at a minimum ~$50,700 per year to attend W&M. Merit aid, while certainly an option, would probably only dent this massive amount of money required even if I qualified and were chosen for one of the scholar programs.

W&M has an extensive history and would be amazing for the majors I’m interested in. It gives me a sick feeling having to cross off a university based upon the fact that my family can’t afford it, but it seems to be a growing reality.

For those who are OOS, how are you all able to manage such a high cost per year? Is it all external scholarships, or do loans begin to become a factor?

Thank you all so much!

1 Like

This is the case with many majors.

Set a budget first and don’t fall in love with any school.

W&M is a great university - but there are other great universities.

They don’t have competitive scholarships (full ride) but few get.

Rule #1 - what’s your budget - let’s look within those parameters. What’s your GPA and Test score - we can help.

Rule #2 - never fall in love - lots of schools have similar characteristics or majors.

3 Likes

Merit is very limited at WM. Only for a few very top applicants. Otherwise, you are looking at loans. WM is a great school. My children and I all attended. But if you would come out with lots of debt, it may not be the best choice.