African American Success

<p>I'm submitting a problem that a lot of African american students have when choosing a college. I want to go to a school in North Carolina. I'm an intelligent student, so I don't want one of those everyday party schools or one that is "too" fun. I want a good college that has a good amount of African American students but not too many...HELP!</p>

<p>You’re too vague and too specific at the same time.</p>

<p>what does this mean? Any college you go to can be a party school or a non party school. It depends on the friends you decide to have. If you hang out with people that party all the time then you will be more exposed to partying.</p>

<p>You’re going to find partiers in every school, and with every background. Look at some state chools that have honors programs like UNCG which has a diverse student body and an honors college. Honors classes and housing can provide opportunities to meet some serious students.</p>

<p>Well really I’m trying to say that I’m intelligent but I don’t want to a historically black school yet I don’t want to be overran either…</p>

<p>Oh and thanks pennylane2011</p>

<p>You want diversity which I think is a good thing. I believe all schools give the demographics so that part is easy. Weighing which is a fun/partying school is a lot harder. How about Wake Forest?</p>

<p>Yeah I thought about them. However…aren’t they expensive and tough to get into? The next problem would be scholarships.</p>

<p>Tiaram:
Seems as though you need to really sit and make a list of what you want (size. demographics, academic area of interest, etc.) then start with matching those to state schools (since you want NC). NC has many very good state schools, but they are very, very different in terms of location, size of school and quality of reputation. In addition, even schools that have/had a reputation of party schools generally have an honors program that might meet your needs.