Am I Reaching too Far?

So… I’m not asking for anyone to pat me on the back and tell me you believe in me. But, I want someone to hit me with some reality. I want someone to at least attempt to see all sides of this the way I do. I am not great at math, B student I’d say. My grade does not come from hard work and full understanding, but instead a natural understanding of the basic concept. If I’m going to be honest, I strongly dislike math. I never had the early foundation for it and definitely did not help myself out when I didn’t pay attention for the entirety of high school. I loved both chemistry and physics and understood both extremely well. I was a student who barely did homework but maintained a high grade in the class because of testing.

I know that stepping into engineering I am asking to be bombarded with work, and I’m ready to make the full switch in work ethic. That aside, I need to know. Am I making a mistake and getting ahead of myself? I feel like I truly have the cognitive ability and I have a large focus on cause-effect relationships, problem-solving, structure, and logical deduction. I have been in contact with a couple of people who have already been through the schooling to be an engineer, and they have attempted to instill some confidence. I have confidence, but I’m afraid I am overestimating myself and their reassurance is rooted in something else. People I know have confidence, and I am a more than competent individual but uncertainty still looms over me. To put it all down: I believe I have what it takes to have a job in engineering and be very good at it, but the schooling worries me.

Words of advice? I’ve debated a 3-2 but I think what I’d learn in a liberal arts college doesn’t really benefit me. I have the communication and business aspects, I’ve always been humanities heavy. There is no job I believe would suit me better and nothing else has the end I want.