Any info about Birmingham Southern

<p>Thinking about visiting Birmingham Southern in January (class of 2010, Mississippi). Does anyone have any info or comments on this university?</p>

<p>What are you going for? This is a decent school. I graduated from there in biology. There are some tougher biology/history classes but for the most part the academics are not too hard. It has a kind of prep school atmosphere (our assignment freshman year in writing was to "write our graduate school essay"!). In other words, the school is very appearances oriented. The alumni network is ok and no one I knew had any trouble getting a job in the birmingham area after college. Lots of kids go on and get their masters.</p>

<p>1) good things: professors take their time with you. perceived prestige of the college in the city and to a certain extent in the alabama-centered southeast region. Generous financial aid. Opportunities to travel and study abroad are made more available and are easier to access here than at public schools, which are far more competitive, but expect to pay a premium for this accessibility. </p>

<p>2) bad things: don't expect a social life or much more than tight-lipped ostracization if you aren't greek. Since you're from the south, you might have seen that one coming, but I think it's really kind of an embarrassment. The school would be pricey for an out of state student and no scholarship there really covers all costs. Birmingham is not the best college town. The facilities are a mixed bag - the theatre/arts/music buildings are in serious need of help but we have a great science center. School is in a bad area. And it does not help things that the school is what it is, in the area that it is in. At all.</p>

<p>I might can answer more of your questions, but have you looked into Millsaps if you like bham southern? I have heard it is a very good school and it's got good name recognition.</p>