Application Process

I am a complete novice here. We just went through my sons college search process this year. My daughter will be a senior next year and is very interested in musical theatre/acting. As this is a completely different process than a normal college admission process any help would be appreciated—-I assume she would apply to the university first, but how early should she be looking to schedule her audition, how should she choose between musical theater vs acting? We are lucky to be local to Point Park University, but I’m finding out this is such a different process that I want to make sure I understand how it works. Thanks in advance

You might want to post this on the general musical theater board, as you’ll get more responses. MT admissions at the top schools like Point Park are highly competitive. For girls, it’s generally recommended that they apply to 15-20 schools and have a balanced list that includes more than just the top programs. Typically you apply to the university first and then schedule your audition. In addition to auditioning on campus, there are several Unified auditions across the country in New York, California and Chicago. For schools that you can’t get to, Unifieds are a great way to audition for a number of school in various location in one weekend.

If you have questions feel free to reach out to me. My daughter just finished her junior year as a BFA MT at Point Park. I think you need to have a few more posts in the forums before you can send me a private message, though.